Are you proud of your hometown?

March 27, 2012 § Leave a comment

I was out with a friend for dinner last week and something he said stuck with me – “You’re lucky to be able to be proud of where you are from”. You see, he grew up in New Jersey. When you live in New York, most people don’t like to brag, let alone talk, about being from Jersey. I’m sure The Jersey Shore has not helped this particular situation (no pun intended), but it’s unfortunate nonetheless. I’m pretty outspoken about being Canadian and being from Toronto and Winnipeg, but I think no matter where you grew up, you should be proud of it. Find at least one great thing about your hometown and let everyone know about it. Now that I’m in America, I think of myself as an unofficial Canadian ambassador. We could use more unofficial ambassadors of Ohio, Calgary, Africa, or even New Jersey!

Speaking of holding on to my roots, I just did an interview for Toronto’s The Grid. Check it out online here!

Are you proud of your hometown?

[CN Tower photo source]

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Are you proud of your hometown? at I want to go to there.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

