40 Weeks

October 30, 2013 § 2 Comments

40weeks

Happy due date to Henry!

What a funny thing a due date is. It’s just a complete estimate based on either your last period or by measuring the fetus in your first ultrasound, but so much pressure is put on it. I’ve been getting emails, texts, and Facebook messages all day as if it’s MY birthday – some of them sounding so matter-of-fact that today is the day because that’s what an ultrasound I had 33 weeks ago predicted. It’s so nice of you all to think of me, but as far as I’m concerned, it’s just a fence post I have to pass by a certain number of days before Henry is forced out ;)

Meanwhile, I finally feel extremely pregnant. I am dealing with sciatica or pelvic girdle pain or whatever you prefer to call having 8+ lbs of another human (plus the weight of my placenta, extra blood, and amniotic fluid) constantly resting on my hips and pelvis. Unfortunately, I am done with any type of yoga for now and even walking has become challenging. My right hip, leg, and lower back just scream at me when I walk for more than a few minutes at a time. My last day of riding a bike was Thursday.

It’s taken a week, but I have accepted that I have to slow down and being apartment-bound is just something I need to get used to for now. This whole thing kind of reminds me of October 2009, when I was turned away at the U.S. border, house-bound at my parents’ old place in Whitby, and got the H1N1 virus. The big difference is that I actually have energy, my body just won’t let me use it like I usually would. What’s getting me through this is picturing each day as if I went into labour that night – wouldn’t I be grateful that I took it easy that day so that I had the energy to push a baby out later? Yes, yes I would.

Things are slowly progressing though. I hope I don’t have to do a 41 week update for you next Wednesday – stay tuned!

Oh, and to save you the trouble of asking me.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to 40 Weeks

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 40 Weeks at I want to go to there.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

