Undoing the mentality of 6 years of office work

August 12, 2009 § Leave a comment

After nearly 3 months of living in New York and being virtually unemployed, I have finally mellowed out and have begun to truly appreciate the situation I am in.

I am no longer feeling useless because I don’t come home completely wiped out and/or frustrated due to a full day of work. I have finally got it through my semi-brainwashed head that I am extremely fortunate to be in the position that I am in! When am I going to have the chance to not have to work full-time or be searching for a job again, besides when I’m pregnant or retired? I’m taking this time to read more, write more, walk more, go to the gym almost every day, keep the apartment in good shape, grocery shop, and all the other things I found that I couldn’t always keep up while working a 45 hour week.

I’ve also come to realize that I was putting way too much stock in making new friends right off the bat. I have been in this position before and I know that sometimes it takes years to find the right group of friends after relocating. They are out there, I just need to find them! In the meantime, I need to enjoy the really good friends I do have now (hi Shannon and Courtney!) and remember how much time I enjoy spending with myself if Nick is not around.

Some of my favorite things to do these days is read on the patio of a coffeehouse, hang out in my apartment in my underwear, read the NY Times daily, and watch Regis & Kelly every single morning. I don’t know what it is about that show, but it always puts me in a good mood for the rest of the day! I might even go to a taping while I can. I want to hear how loud Regis can yell from the studio audience.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Undoing the mentality of 6 years of office work at I want to go to there.

meta

