I heart fonts

November 24, 2009 § 2 Comments

I don’t know when it was exactly that I started appreciating fonts, but I would guess it goes back to high school’s Graphic Arts classes. I would scroll through the very limited list of fonts available to us on our old Apple computers and design logos for my then-band, Shannon Doll, so I could print out stickers in class.

The subculture of font lovers, admirers, and appreciators has just revealed itself to me within the last 5 years or so. I’m glad I’m not alone, not the only person who would sometimes spend a Friday night in or an entire afternoon at work, downloading new typefaces and feeling both productive and excited about Da Font’s new additions.

In the past 30 minutes (while I should be working on an article), I have found these two products sure to excite any font nerd.

The Serif tote bag from Little Factory

Type, Volume 1: A Visual History of Typefaces and Graphic Styles, brought to my attention from Word’s holiday book list

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to I heart fonts

  • mph says:

    you might get a kick out of this:

    also, veer.com has a lot of type nerd stuff for sale in their shop.

  • christinamm says:

    That is an interesting little clip on Comic Sans. Those kids are pretty obnoxiously pretentious though. haha.

    I will totally check out this Veer site, thanks!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I heart fonts at I want to go to there.

meta

