I am trying to go to there (America)

December 2, 2009 § 1 Comment

I’m back in Canada for what should be the last hurdle for Nick and I, as unmarried folk.

I left our apartment in Brooklyn yesterday, to make the deadline scary beastly immigration lady gave me earlier this month to leave, which felt very strange, but I was very happy to be able to be prepared this time, knowing that I’ll be spending a couple months away from home with my family. I have more than 4 different outfits this time and even my winter coat! This month will be a great distraction, with Christmas and all, so I’m sure it will fly by. Parties, beering, and holiday shopping will all be very enjoyable. Nick is planning to visit me lots and some of those visits will take place at my parents’ new cozy cottage where the internet doesn’t exist and cellphone reception just barely does. We will eat and read and cuddle and tread through snow and life will be great.

I’m doing my best to keep hives, tonsillitis, sinus infections, and other stress-induced ailments away this visit by keeping a ridiculously positive attitude and so far it’s working, although it’s only day two. But you should have seen day two last time! I think I cried any time anyone mentioned Nick, New York, lawyers, or our wedding. I’m really happy to be able to spend this extra time with my family, especially with my nephew, who is somehow getting cuter every time I see him. Maybe I’ll even get my beginners drivers license again? Only time will tell what miracles will happen in Whitby, Ontario!

In the meantime, I’ll think about how much Nick and I have put into this relationship. We have dealt with so many challenges already, from being two different nationalities to scrambling to pay my astronomical phone bills and accepting our relationship as my new vice to where all my extra money went. We WILL be together! As soon as the American government gives us the go ahead anyway!

[Look how happy we are when we’re together and in New York!]

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to I am trying to go to there (America)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I am trying to go to there (America) at I want to go to there.

meta

