I can’t wait to stop being neurotic

May 13, 2010 § 6 Comments

Today is the one week mark until my visa interview at the US Consulate in Montreal and I’m starting to get nervous. I was doing so well, I have almost every document ready for the interview, getting ready to just look at getting us a nice hotel downtown, but I went to get my visa photos taken today (yes, ANOTHER set!) and started to worry about what would happen if the officer I deal with ends up being in a bad mood (like the one that got me into this mess in the first place) and decides to deny me for some reason like my visa photo isn’t acceptable. It actually states on the visa photo spec sheet they gave me that if the photo is unacceptable, they won’t even conduct your interview. Eeeep!

I’m lucky the funny little lady I had taking my photo was as much of a perfectionist as I am, but I just realized she didn’t stamp the back with the date or anything. I think I’ll take them back to get that done, just incase.

I can’t wait until this time next week when my interview should be over, I should know if I’m approved or not, and am heading back to see my family.

Anyone see anything else wrong with my photo above? I mean, other than the fact that I apparently can’t take a passport or visa photo that is flattering these days. At least I’m not frowning or giving the camera a dirty look this time!

§ 6 Responses to I can’t wait to stop being neurotic

  • Gord Miller says:

    I think you look great. Love you Christina.

    Dad

  • Deb says:

    Christina, While I was briefly employed in a photo lab, I took a few passport photos. The requirements were: no hair bands, no bangs over eyebrows, no glasses, no smile (lips turned up), no glare on face, and facing directly at the camera with shoulders back. For some reason, we asked people with long hair to tie it back with an elastic, but I don’t think it was mandatory. Good luck!!
    Deb XO

  • Christina says:

    Thanks, guys! I’ve calmed down today and I’m feeling more confident. Can’t wait to see you next week!

  • jenn says:

    having taking a bajillion passport photos in my days at the good old blacks is photography date stamp & photographer deets is a biggie. you are a smart lady! the other ones that were often rejections were no glare or shadows anywhere (most common shadows that caused rejection were behind the ears) – background, face, glasses etc.

    you’re supposed to have glasses on if you have them on regularly (but that was passport not visa and i think visa is different)

    good luck lady face!! hope it all goes well.

    • Christina says:

      Thanks, Jenn! I managed to figure out the photo thing – turns out that passport and visa photos are the same size and specs in the US and they don’t need a date on the back. Just for my own peace of mind, I ended up getting the US size AND a Canadian passport photo as well. Haha.

  • […] Methodically and obsessively prepared for my Visa […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I can’t wait to stop being neurotic at I want to go to there.

meta

