An Education

May 15, 2010 § Leave a comment

I finally watched An Education tonight, thanks to Netflix and my uninterested, yet patient, fiance.

It  pretty much delivered exactly what I had expected: an interesting mood, beautiful 60s fashion, and a very cute lead actress to look at for an hour and a half. What I wasn’t necessarily expecting was the lesson. I’ll try to sum up how I’m feeling minutes after watching it without spoiling it for anyone. Basically, I feel even if you are the most clever, obedient, and sensible of teenagers, growing up is hard! Being in love is hard! You do some crazy stuff – some of it works out, some of it doesn’t. You can’t help but make stupid and wrong choices sometimes and really, you end up being a better person after being forced to deal with the outcome, regaining your composure and becoming a stronger person. It’s good to see even for a movie set 50 years ago that the idea was basically the same as it would be as if it were set in present day.

Definitely recommended.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading An Education at I want to go to there.

meta

