Lovesongs

July 11, 2010 § 7 Comments

I’m spending my Sunday evening putting the finishing touches on the playlist for our lunch reception. I’ve never been one of those girls who mentally stores ideas, dresses, food, decor, etc. for years leading up to their wedding day, but music is the one thing that I did think about. Since we’re just having a small lunch reception after the ceremony, it’s a lot more laid-back, but there are still certain songs I’ve always wanted played at my wedding and also Nick and I have collected a fair amount of “our songs” over the past three years that we need to play. You can download a taste here. The password is “cnlovesongs”.

Tracks:

  1. Band of Horses “No One’s Gonna Love You” [buy CD on iTunes]
  2. Death Cab For Cutie “I Will Follow You into the Dark” [buy CD on iTunes]
  3. Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros “Home” [buy CD on iTunes]
  4. Foo Fighters “Everlong” [buy CD on iTunes]
  5. Jay-Z “Empire State of Mind” [buy CD on iTunes]
  6. Radiohead “All I Need” [buy CD on iTunes]
  7. Sigur Ros “Untitled 4” [buy CD on iTunes]
  8. Smashing Pumpkins “Today” [buy CD on iTunes]
  9. Spiritualized “Ladies and Gentlemen…” [buy CD on iTunes]
  10. Tom Waits “I Hope That I Don’t Fall in Love With You” [buy CD on iTunes]

Are you like me – do you have songs you can’t wait to play for your favorite people on your special day? What are they? (Don’t worry, I won’t steal them, I already have too much music as it is! ;)

[Photo above by Max Wanger]

§ 7 Responses to Lovesongs

  • Courtney says:

    Good stuff!! Our playlist was ridiculous. I think it ended up being like 8 hours of music. hah.

  • Amy says:

    as a big fan of motown, i played a lot of sam cooke and wilson pickett.

    in particular, “bring it on home to me” is a favourite and our wedding song “i found a love”…

    “ladies and gentlemen…” is very epic!

  • Amy says:

    whoops… i forgot to write that i asked my brother-in-law to learn nick cave’s “into my arms”…

    picking out the music was probably my favourite part of planning…

    • Christina says:

      Hey Amy!
      Motown is super classy! I’d love to play that if we were doing a nighttime reception, but we’ll keep it light for lunch. We do have some Michael Jackson on the list though :)

  • dori says:

    I LOOOOVVVVEEEE that Edward Sharpe song. Makes me so happy.

  • joelle bertrand says:

    aww that playlist is awesome! i’m such a geek and i have my wedding playlist already done even thogh i’m not engaged or have a boyfriend!it’s so sad
    kissing you by des’re (It’s the song that plays in romeo and juliet when they see eachother for the first time in the aquarium) cheesy i know)
    hallejujah – jeff buckley
    breathe me-sia
    everything – lifehouse
    i will follow you into the dark – dcfc
    there is a light – the smiths
    love song -the cure

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lovesongs at I want to go to there.

meta

