Labour Day Weekend

September 2, 2010 § 2 Comments

Some of you are already off on your travels for your long Labour Day weekend, and to those of you attempting to fly on the East coast, I wish you good luck! The hurricane has been making everyone nervous. Nick and his friends were forced to leave their rented beach house on the Outer Banks, but luckily, they still get to spend another day and a half together in the much safer D.C. area. I’m not going anywhere, but I do have a couple friends in town I’m looking forward to seeing. I’m sure when Nick gets home on Saturday, we’ll both be reminiscing about last Labour Day weekend because that’s when we got engaged!

I feel like I’ve told the internet everything else that’s happened as far as the immigration adventures and wedding details, so for those who don’t know the story, here’s a little recap…

Nick suggested a trip for the two of us for the long weekend. We decided to visit Ocean City, Maryland and enjoy a few days of the ocean, cheesy tourists, great people-watching, and seafood.

We had the engagement conversation a few weeks prior and because of our delicate, international relationship details, we knew we had to figure out our future together sooner than later. Needless to say, I was in that silly girl state where your imagination runs wild and every moment that is remotely romantic becomes a possibility for a proposal.

We had been in Ocean City for a couple days and had a few nice dinners, spent some relaxing time together, but nothing yet! One night, we decided to dress up like the other “tourists” on the boardwalk and went out to buy tye-dye t-shirts and shark tooth coral necklaces. We had an amazing night playing on the boardwalk at the arcade, riding the ferris wheel, and taking photobooth pictures. Nick suggested that we get up early the next morning to watch the sun rise on the beach.

We get up at about 5 am. We stumble out of bed. I put on my “tourist t-shirt” from the night before (an iron-on of horses galloping surrounded by lightning!) and we walk down to the beach. My sleepy mind is thinking “this is romantic! I think he’s going to do it now!” We sit in the sand, his arm around me, watching the sun rise over the water. After taking some photos of the pretty sky, the sun has fully risen. “Hmm”, I think, “Maybe another time then.” Nick says “alright, let’s go”, but then after walking just a few steps, stops and gets down on one knee, pulls out my ring, tells me some really sweet things, then asks me to marry him. My first reaction was “REALLY!?” then of course I said yes.

We celebrated the only way we knew how – by driving to Dunkin Donuts at 6 am and getting a half dozen of their treats to share, eating them in bed, while watching Eddie Murphy’s Biography. The rest is history!

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Labour Day Weekend

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Labour Day Weekend at I want to go to there.

meta

