Best birthday, best husband

October 14, 2010 § 1 Comment

IMG_1719

Jenn & I at East River State Park

This past Saturday October 9th was one of the best birthdays I’ve ever had.

With Nick away in LA for business, I made plans with my friend Kate to go out for drinks and stop by the Insound Design Store that Friday night. Even though she lives and works in Manhattan and the Insound Store was in Soho, she offered to come meet me in Greenpoint for a beer before we headed out. I thought “great!” We met up at a bar about 10 minutes from my apartment and had a drink. She had been checking her phone the entire time, but told me it was her fiance texting about his new job. After about half an hour, she asked if we could stop by my place before we headed into the city because she had to do something she didn’t feel comfortable doing in the bathroom of the bar. By this point, I should have been suspicious of something, but I must tell you, I am extremely trusting and easy-going.

We walk back to my place and when we’re only about 10 feet away, this girl comes bouncing towards me with her arms reaching out for a hug. I can’t tell who it is right away because she’s backlit by a streetlight. Then I see it’s my sister! “WHAT!?!?” was my first reaction, as Jenn lives in Oshawa, Ontario, Canada and has 2 little ones that kept her from coming to New York for my wedding in July. It turns out, my wonderful husband arranged everything and flew her to New York to surprise me for my birthday! Kate was in on it too and did an amazing job, really committing to the role with the whole poop thing.

After having a glass of wine/beer inside and calming down, the three of us headed into the city to stop by the Insound event, then got some food and drinks at a lovely place on West Houston.

Since Jenn’s flight home was at 6:30 pm  Saturday, we woke up early on Saturday so we’d have more time to spend together. I took her on a walking tour of Greenpoint and Williamsburg. We had some brunch, did a little shopping, and sat in East River State Park for a while, enjoying the view of the city over the water. She loved The Garden in Greenpoint, so we did a little food shopping and came back home to make nachos.

Even though it was a short visit, it was perfect. I can’t believe how lucky I am to have a husband who will do things like that for me and my family.

The birthday surprises didn’t end there. What I thought was going to be a nice dinner out with Nick turned into a dinner with three of my favourite couples in NY at a great Indian restaurant. We finished up my birthday celebration and began his (Nick’s birthday is the 11th) by getting massages together at the Oasis Spa.

You see now why I had to go through all those immigration headaches to be with this man?

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Best birthday, best husband

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Best birthday, best husband at I want to go to there.

meta

