Serious American Progress

November 5, 2010 § 3 Comments

So what have I been up to the past few weeks?

_DSC6423

Preparing for my Greencard interview, obviously!

Although it’s not as nerve-wracking as the visa interview was, nothing is as therapeutic as collecting government forms, emails, photographs, birth certificates, insurance documents with both our names on it, and other items that “prove our relationship” and putting them into a folder, dividing them by type, and labeling them with their corresponding copies.

The interview is next Monday the 15th, and this time, it’s not just about me. Nick and I will have to prove we’re a real married couple who aren’t just together so I can live in this country. (I also have to refrain from making any remarks such as “why the hell would I go through all this trouble to live in this crazy place if I didn’t really love and want to be with this man?!”) I kind of hope they ask us questions and test us like in The Proposal where we get to play a sort of Newly Wed Game because I think that would be fun.

After the interview, if all goes well, I will be granted “Permanent Resident with conditional status”. In a year or so, I can apply to have the conditional status removed. In about three years, if I want, I can apply for citizenship. So to answer your questions, no, this isn’t the end, but it is a huge step towards settling into a real life.

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Serious American Progress

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Serious American Progress at I want to go to there.

meta

