I boarded Platform 9 3/4

November 24, 2010 § Leave a comment

Yesterday was my last day off during the week for at least a few months, as I have been taken on for the Christmas season at Insound! To celebrate, I made sure to take full advantage of the glory that is week days off by doing a large holiday grocery shop, before heading to the city to finalize our wills with Nick**, then I headed down to Union Square to see the new Harry Potter movie. As I’m a huge fan of the books, this was really the highlight of my plans for the day, even overshadowing the Bob Dylan show Nick and I went to afterward.

Going to the movies alone is quite an experience. It was only my second time doing this, but I did it up right. After I got my ticket, I headed over to Toasties and got my favourite veggie sandwich and a peanut butter chocolate chip cookie to eat during the movie, both because the movie is 2 1/2 hours long and because this would likely serve as my dinner.

The movie did not disappoint. I am still deciding, but I think yesterday The Deathly Hallows just kicked The Order of the Phoenix right out of my personal top HP movie’s spot. I almost want to brave the horrendous New York City movie crowds*** to see it again. Almost.

Coincidentally, the subway stop my theatre was closest to has been subtly Harry Potter-ified: some creative fan slapped a 9 3/4 sticker on top of the now-defunct W line in Union Square!  Photo above from NY Daily News.

 

**Immigration note: did you know if you’re not an America citizen and you live in America, even if you’re married to a person and they die, you are entitled to nothing? Get a will made!

*** New York City inhabitants: when did you lose all your common courtesy when it comes to other people at the movies? When the real previews start, that’s when it’s time to stop talking. Whispering is tolerated, but when the movie starts, you had better shut up. Also, stop checking your cellphones. When it’s totally dark, we can easily see your iPhone flicker back on. Just relax and turn yourself off for 2 hours. You paid $13 to do so, afterall.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I boarded Platform 9 3/4 at I want to go to there.

meta

