Christmas 2010

December 30, 2010 § 5 Comments

Nick and I are home after our own version of Planes, Trains and Automobiles! Having to visit both families when they live in different countries is quite a feat, but doable if you are determined.

My cute husband

We set off on our journey last Wednesday. We took the train to Philadelphia where we rented a car to drive to Lancaster to see Nick’s parents. They are no longer together, so that always makes things a little more interesting. After alternating dinners, movies, lunches, and visits, we got up at 5:30 am Saturday morning (aka Christmas morning) to drive back to Philadelphia, return our car, and get on a plane to Toronto.

The first thing we do when we arrive at Pearson airport

I was so excited about going home to Canada for the first time in 6 months that the early wake up didn’t bother me at all. I bounced in my car seat all the way to the airport and then on to the plane. Here’s a little secret I’ll let you in on: flying on Christmas day is the best! No one’s traveling, the workers are probably being paid double so they’re in a great mood, and there were only about 10 other people on our plane. Our flight ended up getting in about 25 minutes early, which is pretty early for a flight that only takes an hour to begin with. Hooray for Christmas day flying!

Suzanne & Ryan

My parents picked us up and greeted us with huge hugs. We were whisked away to Whitby where soon we were surrounded by family. My sister’s family came over, complete with Ryan, Ben, and Jillian, and my brother Ryan and his wife Suzanne were staying there too. We had a Christmas dinner of turkey and pumpkin pie and opened presents together.

Shortbread cookies!

Couch wrasslin'

Boxing day (December 26 for you Americans) was just as wonderful with visits from my grandparents and Aunt Deb. Lots of food was eaten. Canadian beer was drank (the good kind!). We went to bed early both nights because we were just so relaxed and full and happy.

Jillian & Mom

_DSC6470

We all spent Monday at my parents’ cottage on Burnt River. More food was eaten.

Tuesday Nick and I spent the day in Toronto. We indulged on lunch from Fresh, a nice healthy departure from holiday food. That night, dinner with Julia and Jay turned into a surprise dinner with multiple friends at The Atlantic. It was so nice to see those who made it out!

Nick and I spent the night in Toronto. He was supposed to fly home Wednesday afternoon, but because of the massive New York snowstorm, his flight was cancelled and the airline told him he wouldn’t be booked on another until after the new year.

Freeman & Franklin - Greenpoint

Franklin & Green - Greenpoint

We heard stories of flight cancellations across the board, whether they were flying to or from NY and even worse stories of people who managed to get a flight sitting on the runway for ELEVEN HOURS while they waited for some customs/security precaution. Ridiculous, right? At the last minute, we decided to rent a car to drive home. Sadly, my visit was cut short by two days, but we actually made it home in 9 hours, driving a compact car without a GPS. The border was also very kind to me and didn’t hassle us much besides looking in my suitcase and our trunk. I received a baby book (a little prematurely ;) from my Mom for Christmas and it was sitting on top of everything in my suitcase. I think once the guard saw that, he decided we were just a nice young couple. Thanks, Mom!

All the Miller kids

All in all, it was a great Christmas and I can’t wait to go back to Canada for my next visit in a few months.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Christmas 2010

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Christmas 2010 at I want to go to there.

meta

