Musical “meh”s

February 5, 2011 § 3 Comments

I have a confession to make… I am finding it incredibly hard to be excited about any new music these days. You may say that’s no big deal, hardly worth a confession, but to me, it is. For most of my working life I’ve been involved in music somehow whether it be working at record stores or in the actual live music industry and I’ve always had something to be excited about. I’ve always marked down upcoming concerts on my calendar and looked forward to new album releases. These days, I find myself listening to more old music than ever; music older than me even, such as The Beatles, Simon & Garfunkel, Rolling Stones, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Hank Williams, Led Zeppelin, and more. The more recent music I select on my iPod is at least a couple years old. I don’t know if I’d realize this was happening so much if I didn’t currently work at an online music retailer. We get in shipments every day and every day I look at what comes in and shrug. New bands that sound like inferior versions of bands I already like, new bands that are trying to bring back disco mixed with gothic rock, and douchey rap artists *cough* Kanye West *cough*. It’s like 2011 is recovering from an emo pop-punk hangover.

I think a big part of my new music drought is that I miss Canadian music. It doesn’t really reach America and I miss hearing about new artists through my old job at the booking agency in Toronto. I would discover more bands because I’d go out to shows with friends for work and realize “hey, these guys I wouldn’t have normally gone to see are actually pretty good!”

Another big part of the drought is that music sharing is almost non-existent at my office. Only a few people even have speakers for their computer, so for the most part, we all sit at our desks with our headphones on, and you can only guess what everyone’s listening to. We make top ten lists for our website, but it’s pretty unlikely that I’m going to buy every record someone recommends to me with the current track record I’ve been experiencing.

So what are you listening to these days? Is it just me having a hard time? Is anything interesting out there worth a listen? Eli Klein, I’m looking in your direction. And anyone else who wants to share. Pick up my musical spirits!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Musical “meh”s

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Musical “meh”s at I want to go to there.

meta

