Peter Luger is my (other) Valentine

February 13, 2011 § 1 Comment

Many of you have probably heard me rave about Peter Luger Steakhouse before – it’s become mine and Nick’s favourite special occasion restaurant. We decided that lunch there would become our New Year’s Day lunch tradition and now I think it’s official that this is where we will spend the many Valentines Days we have to look forward together as well.

Since I’ve given most of my friends and family an idea of how delicious their food is through words, I thought it I’d step it up a notch and give you a play-by-play of our favourite things to order there.

IMG00100-20110213-1253
Step 1: The Bread Basket

When you arrive at your table, you are greeted with a basket of amazing bread and a gravy boat full of Luger sauce. This sauce is meant to be eaten on almost anything in the restaurant, including the bread. Butter up and dip!

IMG00101-20110213-1311
Step 2: The Bacon

I know it’s hard, but don’t eat too much bread. Limit yourself to one or two buns at the most and save room for our favourite appetizer, their thick and juicy pieces of giant bacon. I usually eat one, Nick goes for two.

IMG00102-20110213-1312

IMG00103-20110213-1312

Step 3: The Burger (!!!)

Peter Luger is known for its amazing steak, but Nick and I love to go for the burgers. They’re easily the best burgers either of us has ever had, as they are basically ground, high quality steak, covered in melted processed cheese, then topped with a thick slice of onion and of course, more Luger sauce. The simplicity is amazing. No other condiments are necessary or recommended. This baby is also about an eighth the cost of a steak.

Please note: the burgers are only available at lunchtime!

IMG00105-20110213-1333

IMG00107-20110213-1336

Step 4: The Cheesecake

I hope you did your Peter Luger prep work and made sure you were very hungry before arriving because you can’t leave after eating all that meat – you need to finish off your amazing meal with the best cheesecake I’ve ever had.

The plain cheesecake is unbelievably creamy and is accompanied by a bowl of real whipped cream bigger than your slice of cake. Black tea is a great pairing.

IMG00104-20110213-1325

And that’s Nick and Christina’s Valentine’s Day Peter Luger guide!

Have you ever been there? What do you order?

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Peter Luger is my (other) Valentine

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Peter Luger is my (other) Valentine at I want to go to there.

meta

