Four years of New York

May 4, 2011 § 3 Comments

It’s hard to believe that I had never been to New York until 2007. Ever since that first visit, I managed to come once a month for two years, then eventually* moved here.

The first time I came for a visit, I took a Greyhound bus with Angela. They were having a buy-one-get-one-free sale and our return tickets cost us something like $35 each. When you’re 25, have a fun roommate, and a portable DVD player (before iPods with video), taking an overnight bus for that price just makes sense.

We got in early that morning, but Angela’s friend (and soon to be my friend!) Courtney came to meet us at Port Authority to take us back to her place in Prospect Park. We showered, and I had my first taste of a New York style bagel**.

The three of us headed back in to the city. Courtney went to work, but Angela and I set out to do touristy things like visit the WTC site.

The subway system confused the hell out of me. I was used to Toronto’s actual direction system. You know, North, South, East, West? Not here! Forest Hills, Brooklyn Bridge, Queens – I had no idea! All the credit for not becoming permanently lost underground goes to Angela, even if we did have some scares followed by both of us having to pee really bad while having no idea where we were.

Courtney and Jesse were great tour guides. Their friend Bobby even came out with us to some of my favourite places like Coney Island…

… and Carrie Bradshaw’s house.

I know none of us will forget the night we drank vodka-Redbulls and got both drunk and hungover from caffeine:

The day of the caffeine hangover (far worse than any other hangover, kids – don’t do it!) the guy who would become my husband wanted to take Angela and I out and about in the city. After filling us full of Mexican food (my first trip to San Loco!) we had enough energy to travel. We visited CBGB’s skeleton and Joey Ramone Place.

And another one of my favourite places in the world, Central Park, where we visited Strawberry Fields.

Look how little and tattoo-less these two are:

It was nice to have the chance to visit the New York office of my then-workplace. I met a lot of people I had only spoken to on the phone or through email and putting faces to the voices was a lot of fun. Yeah, that office was pretty fun…

Talk about a monumental trip. Not only did I make new friends, but the beginnings of a relationship were starting to spark. I have to admit that my four day visit to New York did completely overwhelm me and I was happy to leave when we did, but it was also the moment my fascination with the city began.

Has anyone else out there had a life-changing trip?

Footnotes:

*after a lot of shit.

** Weeks later, I would become addicted and Nick would woo me with a shipment to my office in Toronto.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Four years of New York

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Four years of New York at I want to go to there.

meta

