The Rapture

May 23, 2011 § Leave a comment

No, not the dance-punk band, but rather the most popular topic of conversation this past weekend. I don’t know anyone who took it seriously, but I felt, even though it was pretty preposterous, we Earthlings may have been a little cocky in feeling so sure that our lives weren’t coming to an end on Saturday at 6:00 pm. So how did you spend what could have been your last day on Earth? I had no regrets except for the fact that I didn’t actually spend time with Nick until about 6:00…

I spent the afternoon walking all over Williamsburg with Stu and Amy, vacationing from Toronto.

Amy & Stu

We walked in the sun and sampled a lot of food at the Smorgasburg Flea Market and a vegan bakery. We ended the afternoon by drinking beers in a backyard before we all decided we needed naps.

After Nick was Wikipedia-ing famous debaucherous writer, Henry Miller, I decided to find his old house in Williamsburg while I waited for Stu and Amy. I expected it to be much more run-down, but you can see it for yourself at 662 Driggs Ave. It’s actually quite nice.

Henry Miller's house

When I returned home, Nick and I went up on the roof to watch the sun set on this supposed last day. It seems people everywhere in the neighbourhood had the same plan as there were end of the world BBQs everywhere!

Rapture Roof Party

_DSC6704

Anyways, I’m glad we don’t have to worry about doomsday for another year and a half or so. I am due to spend more time with this guy:

_DSC6709

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Rapture at I want to go to there.

meta

