The Perks of Being a Wallflower

June 1, 2011 § 7 Comments

If you were into the Get Up Kids and Catcher in the Rye in your late teenage/college years, chances are, you’ve read The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. A cult favourite, I first read it my second year of college when I befriended a very fun, tattooed, stretched-eared, bespectacled girl who lent it to me and have probably read it 5 times since. I have bought it as gifts for friends and family I thought would enjoy it and still think of it as a must-read for adolescent boys and the girls who are trying to understand them. Now, it’s becoming a feature film, to be released next year.

Starring Paul Rudd, Emma Watson, and even Arrested Development’s Mae Whitman, I am going to say I have faith that this will translate into a decent movie version of the book. Of course, movies are just never as good as books, that’s just how it is. So I suggest reading it yourself before (or maybe after, to avoid any disappointment) you see the movie.

[photo: Qcait]

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to The Perks of Being a Wallflower

  • Amy MacLeod says:

    I loved The Perks of Being a Wallflower so much that I assigned it to a group of students this year.

    It was amazing. I got to watch one of them finish the novel in class… she couldn’t hold her response in and yelled, “oh my god!” now, everyone else wants to read it too!

  • Christina says:

    That is really cool, Amy! It must feel so good to have the power to have such a positive influence on kids today. They need it!

  • lindsay says:

    I ALWAYS WONDERED WHERE THIS BOOK WENT! i’m glad you got great use out of it :)

    • Christina says:

      Haha yes, Lindsay!! I remember trying to return it to you for a while, but you were M.I.A. and I just gave up. I still treasure it though! Do you remember Andrew’s note inside where he’s writing about a man staring at him on the Go Train on his way to visit you?

  • lindsay says:

    i don’t remember that! was it a nice message? awww, so long ago :)

  • Lisdy says:

    im 16 i read this book and loved it i never had such a great class and teacher and he made my year since i always hated english what i loved most was how he went step by step and explain a couple of thing and made us explain stuff that we got from the book at the end we wrote an essay about it my piece of work ever and what made it better was i figured out the ending i absolutely hope the movies good

  • Lisdy says:

    explained a couple of things**

    best piece of work ever!**

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower at I want to go to there.

meta

