Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

August 10, 2011 § 2 Comments

A favourite among readers since it was released in 2005, Jonathan Safran Foer’s novel Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close has been made into a movie and now even has a release date! It’ll have a limited run in theatres on December 25, 2011 and will start showing nation-wide on January 20, 2012. The movie stars big names like Tom Hanks, Sandra Bullock, and John Goodman and coincidentally (or maybe not so much) will be released just in time to be considered for the next Academy Awards.

Although it’s been a few years now since I’ve read the book, I remember loving it. Set in New York following September 11th, Oskar Schell – an incredibly endearing nine year-old – is convinced that his father who died in the attacks left a message for him hidden somewhere in the city, after finding a mysterious key.

I’ll definitely be re-reading it before the movie comes out. What about you?

[First image from the movie, above: Collider]

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

  • Sarah T says:

    I love this book more than any other thing I have ever read. I have the special edition and will FOR SURE be reading it again before the movie. LIGHT BOOTS!

  • Christina says:

    Ooh, does the special edition have additional material? I think I have the regular one, but it’s been about 4 years since I read it, so I’m excited to read it again! Gotta get through the 3 other books I’m reading now first ;)

    What are you reading right now, Sarah?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close at I want to go to there.

meta

