15 years ago today

September 24, 2011 § 2 Comments

On September 24, 1996 I went to my first concert – The Smashing Pumpkins at Winnipeg Arena.

I don’t remember many details from the concert, but I do remember being 15 years old, impressionable, blown away, and instantly catching the music bug. I began playing bass. I made new friends whose lives also revolved around music. I joined a band. I met other bands. I got a job in the music industry where I met my husband and the rest is history.

So thank you, Sylvia Wollman, for getting me into that show 15 years ago and to the Smashing Pumpkins for making high school – and probably my whole life – much more interesting.

P.S. While google searching for an image for this post, I found a live recording of the concert, which I’m listening to now. The internet was barely around back then, how does it do these things!

P.P.S. The 6th result for “Smashing Pumpkins Winnipeg 1996” was a link to the concert review on my old music page from the 90s! Hilarious.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to 15 years ago today

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 15 years ago today at I want to go to there.

meta

