Do you ever go to concerts, movies, or events alone?

September 29, 2011 § 7 Comments

_DSC6866

It’s the social norm to go to these events with at least one other person, whether it be a date or a friend. If, god forbid, you’re meeting your +1 there and they’re late, these days we all bury our noses in the comfort of our smartphones to make us look busy and important until they arrive.

I found it easier to go to events on my own when I lived in Toronto because the city is smaller and I knew a lot more people, and had greater chances of running into a friend. Now that I’m in enormous New York, things are very different!

Since I’ve moved here, I find myself going to movies alone in the daytime a few times a year. I love attending Creative Mornings alone because you listen to the entire lecture carefully and talk to those around you. I got a job from exchanging small talk with another attendee at one of these events! I still prefer to go to concerts with at least one other person, but last night worked out well that I was at a show alone.

I managed to procure a single ticket to the very sold out Radiohead show at Roseland Ballroom. I went alone, knowing there would be two people I knew there among the hundreds of others attending. I could bump into them. It would be okay…

I never did find them, but I did end up standing beside David Fricke, senior editor of Rolling Stone. Of course, I had to take the opportunity to say hi! He was also there alone and we both found a really good spot with a great view of the stage. We stood there all night and engaged in a nice amount of conversation. When the band was done, we shook hands and said it was nice to meet each other. Would this have happened if I was there with friends? Probably not.

So do you ever go to these things alone? If so, do you have any positive stories to tell? I’d love to hear them!

P.S. Radiohead was incredible.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Do you ever go to concerts, movies, or events alone?

  • gyash1 says:

    nice post.n i agree we pretend to be busy when we are alone

  • ELi says:

    HOLY FRICK DAVID FRICKE!?

    /jealz

    I’ve spent more time alone, out at stuff in the last year that ever before… basically since you moved away hahaha

    I kinda love it. split whenever you want, you dont have to buy other people drinks… last weekend I went to a random AA show in a parking lot and then went to see mad professor… not many people would have done both with me!

    • Christina says:

      I miss going to shows with you more than anyone else I left behind in Toronto! You were always up for anything. I’m glad you’re still carrying on without me though!

  • Why does it bother me? says:

    I have to say when I lived in the UK I did a whole heap of films and stuff alone, living here in Gibraltar it is more difficult, the cinema only has TWO showings and both of those are when my fiancé has finished work, so I’d feel mean leaving him at home!
    On the days that I’d take myself of to exhibits and places on my own I met so many different people. I think it forces you to come out of your comfort zone, if you want to talk to someone when you are on your own you have to engage, which is normally a good thing!

    • Christina says:

      I agree – it’s great to get a chance to speak to other people who are also alone! Why do we feel so weird talking to strangers when we’re with other people?

      I love that you like going to movies alone so much that it’s an issue your fiance is always around to accompany you! That’s hilarious.

  • […] them live in September and discussing the record and its recording process with David Fricke (yes, Rolling Stone Magazine’s David Fricke), I was hooked. Radiohead is one of the most forward-thinking bands out there today, and my […]

  • […] – I manage to get a ticket to one of the unattainable, sold out in 31 seconds Radiohead shows in New York. Go to the show solo, but end up chatting with Rolling Stone’s David Fricke. […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Do you ever go to concerts, movies, or events alone? at I want to go to there.

meta

