My Favourite Books of 2011

December 16, 2011 § 3 Comments

The year-end best of lists continue with My Favourite Books of 2011. Sure, most of these books didn’t come out this year, but these are the best books I’ve read the past 12 months.

In The Woods – Tana French

I almost picked up this book so many times, just because of the cover art, but didn’t actually read it until last month when someone from my favourite book store recommended it. Great Irish mystery, impressive character development, and not at all cheesy. Now I’m reading the second book in the set, The Likeness.

Bossypants – Tina Fey

Tina Fey is a comical genius. I mean, her sense of humour is perfect! While reading this book, I felt like I was hanging out with her and she was regaling me with the funny stories of her life. The only problem: it’s not long enough. Fingers crossed for a second book!

Just Kids – Patti Smith

Patti Smith’s memoir “Just Kids” was my favorite Summer read.  I’d sit on my balcony with a beer or glass of wine, and imagine what it would be like to come to New York with nothing in the ’60s then end up meeting and befriending some of the most influential musicians, artists, and poets in America at the time, possibly of all time. Now it’s becoming a movie!

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo series – Stieg Larsson

Initially, I wrote off this novel series because I thought it was just silly airport reading. Now I know that sometimes books are popular for a reason! Although it takes a minute to get into the story and it’s often times hard to keep all the characters straight, it’s a heavy, entertaining, dark read. My favourite book was definitely the second, The Girl Who Played With Fire.

The Lost Symbol – Dan Brown

Again, many book snobs would snicker at a Dan Brown novel, but this book was great. My husband’s a big fan and convinced me to read it after he enjoyed it. Great story, and you gotta love Robert Langdon (or as we all know we picture in our heads now, Tom Hanks).

What was your favourite read of 2011? I need some recommendations for 2012!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to My Favourite Books of 2011

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Favourite Books of 2011 at I want to go to there.

meta

