My Favourite Movies of 2011

December 29, 2011 § 2 Comments

I just got the chance to see The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo this afternoon, and after confirming that it was in fact as fantastic as it looked, I can post my last Best Of List for 2011! So here we go, in no official order, my favourite movies of 2011:

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Fantastic, dark, intelligent and appropriately violent! David Fincher did a great job turning this book into a movie. He makes the lead character, Lisbeth Salander, more instantly likable than the books did and cut out some of the unnecessary meanderings of the novels. I hope he makes the other two. Until then, I’ll be waiting anxiously.

Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows Part 2

My favourite book-to-movie series every, the 10-year Harry Potter movie theatre reign came to a bittersweet end this year. Bittersweet because the last two movies were great, but now there’s no more to look forward to! However, I did take solace in knowing they were all made well and that I never lost interest. Thanks for everything, Harry!

Midnight in Paris

Woody Allen’s love letter to Paris in the form of a film was the final push Nick and I needed to decide to visit the city this summer. The movie tells a funny and unique story while at the same time showcasing legendary writers and featuring gorgeous Parisian landmarks. What’s not to like?

Beginners

Funny, sad, and beautiful all at the same time.

Bridesmaids

Just plain funny.

Bill Cunningham: New York

A must-see documentary for any lover of New York or fashion. The 82 year-old New York Times fashion photographer leads a simple, yet full life specializing in candid and street photography and scoots around Manhattan on his bicycle.

What was your favourite movie this year? Did I miss anything great?

See also:

My Favourite Records of 2011

My Favourite Books of 2011

My Favourite TV Shows of 2011

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to My Favourite Movies of 2011

  • Why does it bother me? says:

    I saw GWTDT a day or so ago. While I really did enjoy the film, Rooney Mara and Daniel Craig were superbly cast. I found myself explaining certain parts to my partner and his brother as they’ve not read the novels, and I thought that certain details that were changed didn’t do it any favours. They killed off Anita! And they also omitted to mention that Lisbeth has that amazing memory! Other than a few gripes loved it. The only bit that got changed for the better was the rape scene. Still horribly graphic, but no where near as bad as the book.

    • Christina says:

      Hi Amy – you sure remember the book well! I noticed the discrepancies with Anita, and that they skipped the brief love affair between Mikael and the other Vanger woman, but you caught it all! I suppose they could have left in everything or the movie would have been 4 hours long. I can’t wait for the sequels if David Fincher decides to do them too!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Favourite Movies of 2011 at I want to go to there.

meta

