The Best Records of 2012

December 6, 2012 § 2 Comments

FEIST

It’s my favourite time of the year for blogging you guys, it’s List-Making Time! We begin with one of my favourite things to compile on a yearly basis: My Favourite Records of the Year. These are in no particular order and I even break a rule with one, so enjoy and let me know if I missed anything you think I’d enjoy!

Cat-Power-Sun

Cat Power – Sun

What a gorgeous record. I absolutely could not stop listening to it for about a month after it was released. Every time I sat down at my computer, I’d try to listen to something new, but would eventually give in and put this on since it’s what I wanted to listen to anyway.

220px-Feist_Metals

Feist – Metals

Another beautiful record by a beautiful singer. My favourite Feist record to date. Just try not to sing along, girls.

Japandroids_COVER-ART

Japandroids – Celebration Rock

The catchiest record of the year? I think so. Two Canadian boys haven’t made this much noise since Death From Above 1979!

Cloud-Nothings-Attack-on-Memory2

Cloud Nothings – Attack on Memory

This record summed up in three words: perfect grungy sound.

51KPa8i+n5L._SL500_SS500_

Future of the Left – The Plot Against Common Sense

If you miss Mclusky, you’ll be happy to know Future of the Left has made (in my opinion) their best – and longest – record yet.  One song entitled “Robocop 4 – Fuck off Robocop” was clearly written for me, mentioning both Voldemort and Billy Corgan.

I was so lucky to see this band live four times this year, especially because they’re from the other side of the Atlantic. I highly suggest you rock out to their heavy, quirky, and snarky songs now.

homepage_large.42bf6de8

Grimes – Visions

It surprised me how much I liked this record. That just goes to show you, don’t judge a record, or a musician for that matter, by its cover. The songs are actually delightfully mellow, perfect to listen to while you work on repeat.

homepage_large.37519bdc

Metz – Metz

Who would have thought I’d be including my ex-boyfriend’s band in my Top 10 list? That’s how undeniably good this record is. Sub Pop has put all their efforts behind this release to spread the word of Metz to the world. It’s time you listened.

c568e5280ef72f8541ccc17df922f4f4

Smashing Pumpkins – Oceania

This is the first Smashing Pumpkins record that’s made my top list since… Adore? I don’t know, but it’s definitely an improvement of all of the band’s (by which I mean, Billy’s) work. It’s been said the sound is in the same vein as the songs from the 90s, and that’s exactly what any SP fan wants. Keep putting yourself out there and getting your heart broken, Billy! As much as I love you, being happy does not make for good songwriting.

SPreissues

Smashing Pumpkins – Mellon Collie & the Infinite Sadness and Pisces Iscariot Reissues

Now that’s what I’m talking about. Look at all that loot!

The reissues for Mellon Collie and Pisces Iscariot were released this year and came with unreleased songs, DVDs of old concerts, postcards, giant lyric booklets, and full color books about the making of the records. My Mellon Collie deluxe set came in the mail last night and I couldn’t help but wish I could somehow send this box of delight back in time to my high school self – I would have slept with it under my pillow.

Definitely worth splurging on for any major SP fan.

1321033233_17_1_1_4_review_mini

Tom Waits – Bad As Me

I know, I know, this was released in late 2011, but I feel like I didn’t get the time to spend with it to full enjoy it until 2012. If you like the weird, jangly Tom Waits accompanied by a quirky horn section, this is for you! Want a preview? Check out his awesome video for Hell Broke Luce.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to The Best Records of 2012

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Best Records of 2012 at I want to go to there.

meta

