My Favourite Books Of 2012

December 18, 2012 § 1 Comment

I am proud to say I met my goal of reading 15 books this year! Of those 15, here are my favourites, not necessarily released in 2012.

9780099578079

1Q84 – Haruki Murakami

This book was great. Almost a Japanese Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, but with Fantasy and Science Fiction mixed in. Although I wasn’t very happy with the ending, the entire 900-page collection of all three books provided a great ride and really original story.

review-broken-harbor

Broken Harbor – Tana French

I read the first three books of the Dublin Murder Squad last year and couldn’t wait for the fourth to be released! I mean, I was so excited, I forgot to check which Kindle I was downloading it to the day it came out and accidentally sent it to Nick’s. Oops.

Each of Tana French’s novels features a characters you met in passing in another book and tells the story from their perspective. If you’re a fan of mysteries and thrillers, this page-turner is for you.

0806_gone_425

Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn

After voraciously reading Tana French’s Dublin Murder Squad books, I wanted more mystery! The cover of this book grabbed me, and then I saw that Tana French herself gave it a glowing review. What an interesting story with a great twist. All the Best Of lists this year are right – definitely recommended.

43641

Water For Elephants – Sara Gruen

Don’t even bother with the Robert Pattison movie – Sara Gruen’s novel is fantastic and all you need. Water For Elephants was the perfect book to read in two sittings, on the plane ride to and from London this Spring. The characters are lovely and the story grabs you.

stevejobs-bio-cover-big

Steve Jobs – Walter Isaacson

If you are a techie or an internet lover, you MUST read this book. Learning how much of a ridiculous person Steve Jobs actually was – how he’d actually cry and throw tantrums to get his way, how he created a “reality distortion field” to convince himself his daughter wasn’t his own amongst other things, how he refused to wear shoes and decided he didn’t need to shower because he was a “fruititarian” – was eye-opening, but also makes me respect him even more for allowing these things to be printed and made public knowledge. I’m not old enough to remember the first launches of Apple products in the 80s, but everything is so interesting to read about, especially the product launches for items like the iMac and iPod. I can’t wait for the movie!

What were your favourite books of 2012? I’m always looking for suggestions on what to read next! 

More: My Favourite Books of 2011

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to My Favourite Books Of 2012

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Favourite Books Of 2012 at I want to go to there.

meta

