My Favourite Movies Of 2012

January 2, 2013 § 2 Comments

Ahhhh! It’s already 2013 and I have one lingering Top List of 2012 left! I’ve also had just four hours of sleep and just flew in from Paris, so without too much witty banter and commentary, here is my list of favourite movies of the past year.

darknightrisesThe Dark Knight Rises

Nick and I have been waiting for this movie for four years. FOUR YEARS. Although it wasn’t quite as good as The Dark Knight, it was really good with the best ending of a movie I can remember.

perksofbeingThe Perks Of Being A Wallflower

I loved this book so much that I was a bit nervous to watch the movie. (After last year’s Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close disaster, I had every right to be weary!) But happily, they did a great job turning this story into a film. It also helped that I went with two great girls who were also fans of the book.

moonrise-kingdomMoonrise Kingdom

I love everything and anything Wes Anderson does. I practically have an entire part of my blog dedicated to his work. While Moonrise Kingdom didn’t compare to his last movie, Fantastic Mr. Fox, it was still a great departure into a beautiful vintage island world.

argoArgo

There’s a reason this post was late – I was waiting to see all of the movies I had a feeling would be fantastic and Nick and I just saw Argo last night in Paris! While Argo made me so anxious I had to remember to breathe during the more suspenseful scenes, it was thoroughly enjoyable and a seriously interesting true story with a great shout out to Canadians. I wish I would have learned about this in school!

django-unchainedDjango Unchained

Quentin Tarantino is another one of my favourite directors who I think can do no wrong. Django is seriously violent, with paying homage to his older movies like Kill Bill (swoon), but with a bit less exaggerated long dialogue (unlike Death Proof). I’m so glad he gave Christoph Waltz another role so he could play the good guy this time.

goonGoon

Definitely the oddball of my movie picks this year. Nick and I got tickets to the opening of this in NYC, which sounds like a big deal, but was pretty small and intimate. A few of the actors were there, along with parents of the producer who actually helped pay for the movie. They spoke about shooting it in Manitoba before the movie and Nick got to have a fanboy moment over Seann William Scott. Really though, this one is just great for some dumb laughs, while also feeling very patriotic ;)

Also:

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to My Favourite Movies Of 2012

  • Sarah says:

    i agree with your entire list except for the ones i haven’t seen! was going to skip both argo and perks but i’ll give em a look-see now :) xo

    • Christina says:

      Hi Sarah!

      Argo is just a great movie – totally going to be nominated for multi Oscars. Perks is very cute and emo, but nice that it’s based in the early 90s so it has a great soundtrack and no Facebook or texting to talk about ;)

      xo

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Favourite Movies Of 2012 at I want to go to there.

meta

