Goodbye, platinum blonde

May 28, 2013 § 8 Comments

I have dyed my dirty blonde hair bright platinum blonde for over 15 years, but I always knew getting pregnant would be my end point.

You can technically dye your hair while you are expecting, but the thought of all those chemicals being absorbed through my scalp every month, plus the strong dye smell turned me off. I have been weaning myself off the good stuff for over 4 months when I decided now that I’m safely into my second trimester, I should do something about my roots and sad-looking faded hair.

After seeing my friend Annie’s fun ombre ‘do, I went to see Megan at Exhibit Salon in Greenpoint. She attempted to get as close to my natural colour as possible, but ended up adding in some brown tones since I’m not sure if they make a hair dye for “colourless ash blonde”. She kept the blonde bottoms to create an ombre look (and reduce the amount of shock for me!), but toned them to fade more gradually into the darker colour now on top.

I’m still getting used to it, but I hope I decide this is something I can live with for a while because it will be so much more manageable! What do you think? Help me be okay with this, friends!

photo 2

Photo on 5-27-13 at 11.59 AM #3

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Goodbye, platinum blonde

  • Deb DeClark says:

    Christina, I think you are pretty no matter what colour your hair is! I have to say the darker tone around your face seems to make your eye colour pop and it looks fantastic on you!
    xo Deb

  • Sara says:

    Christina, you are so beautiful. I love the look!

  • I think it looks great.

    <3

  • Dori Nicholson says:

    It looks great, soft. I really like you with darker hair. :) I went through a dye dilemma too, now mostly natural with a panel of colour (teal). Funny thing is, my ash brown, dull colour has a startling amount of grey in it postpartum. I guess that’s part of parenthood, more to come.

    • Christina says:

      I’m so used to you with your hair colour now, Dori, I was like “oh yeah, I guess she did have to dye it!” Not looking forward to grey, but that’s when I’ll have to start dying it again, I guess. Another reason to enjoy the low maintenance while I can!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Goodbye, platinum blonde at I want to go to there.

meta

