Happy Family Day

February 17, 2014 § Leave a comment

DSC_3800_1

In America, the long weekend is brought to you by President’s Day, but in Canada, today is Family Day. A relatively new holiday, but still a great idea – to have a day off in a dreary winter month to spend time with and celebrate your family.

Unfortunately, I won’t be able to see my entire family in Canada today, but for the first time, I have one of my own. Coincidentally, it was last year’s Family Day when I found out I was pregnant! Julia and Jay were visiting and Julia was almost finished her first trimester of pregnancy and getting ready to tell the world. Her reaction when I took a positive pregnancy test on their last morning here was priceless – while Jay stood there grinning with happiness for us, she was trapped in the corner of our sectional couch by him and was hitting him saying “move! move!” so she could get to me to give me a hug.

Today we will celebrate with one of our favourite families – the Vastanos – and a tasty lunch date.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Happy Family Day at I want to go to there.

meta

