Playground Manners (For Parents)

July 15, 2014 § Leave a comment

image

Ever since the nice weather began, Henry and I have been spending a lot of time outside. We have a nice little routine going where we hit the most popular playground in the neighbourhood at least once a day, between nap times. This playground seems like the place to be – both for meeting other babies as well as other parents. When I realize Hank hasn’t seen another baby in a while, I decide it’s time to go have some time on the swings so he can check out some cute boy or girl his own size.

It’s also great for me to get out and socialize with like-minded people since my only departure from taking care of Henry is a 10 hours a week in which I have a babysitter, but still work at home. And when I use the term “like-minded”, it really only applies to the parenthood portion of our lives, which when you have a baby, is about 90% of the present life pie chart.

These encounters with other parents (or sitters/nannies) always start the same way:

“Awww, he/she is a cutie! How old is he/she? What’s his/her name?”

From there, it takes off into a conversation of comparisons and contrasts. Are they teething? What foods are they eating? Do they sleep through the night? Are they walking or crawling? And before long, you find yourself telling a stranger about your birthing experience or listening to a woman who loves the convenience of breast feeding, but her boobs are just too huge now. The best part: “Oh, by the way, I’m Christina. What’s your name?”

I laugh every time it happens, while reminding myself to make sure I introduce myself before either of us unload what would be TMI for a childless person. Luckily, I have met a few cool people there and everyone seems very friendly and ready to talk about what’s going on in their personal parenting life.

Does this happen to anyone else, or is it solely a New York/big city thing?

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Playground Manners (For Parents) at I want to go to there.

meta

