Grandma’s 80th Birthday Party

July 29, 2014 § 2 Comments

This year, my Grandma is turning 80! My parents were generous enough to offer their beautiful home as a venue for all my family to get together for a giant party to celebrate her. Nick, Henry, and I were so happy to be able to come too!

P1030043

We arrived Wednesday evening and despite a rocky start with sleep, Henry had THE BEST TIME.

P1030033

He loved being outdoors, seeing too many trees to even try to touch them all, the river, boat rides, and having so much room to crawl.

P1030058

And of course he loved spending so much time with family.

P1030066

We spent 4 days at the cottage and 1 day in Oshawa with my sister. Unfortunately, we had no time to get to Toronto to see friends, but I was so happy to have a visit from my friend Sara! (Also pictured: my cousin’s cute and friendly son, Kieran.)

P1030071

Sara and I have been friends for over 10 years, but she moved to Scotland about 6 years ago and got married last year. She was in town visiting her parents with her husband, David, and friend, Hana. It was so great to catch up and enjoy her new Canadian-Scottish accent ;)

P1030076

Later that evening, we had a campfire, complete with Grandpa selfies.

P1030078

The next day, Henry had his first ride on my parents’ pontoon boat. I didn’t think I’d be able to put his robot costume-sized infant life jacket on him without a fight, but he didn’t care – SO MANY TREES!!!! For the rest of the day, all he wanted was to go down by the river and look at everything. He is already more outdoorsy than his parents.

P1030098

Soon, more babies arrived! New parents Jeremy and Gioia brought an adorable 3 month old Dante.

P1030119

Henry continued to love life, chowing down on PC baby food (added sugar! woooo!) and yelling to join the dinner conversation.

P1030129

We had dinner at the longest table, sitting about 32 people. We enjoyed heartfelt tributes to my Grandma by my mom, aunt, and uncle. Tears were shed!

P1030132

Then the cupcakes came out. Of course, the great-grandchildren that knew how to blow out candles lent a helping hand.

P1030138

It was a really great weekend, filled with family. Unfortunately, we were missing the Martin family – my sister is too pregnant to travel that far away from her hospital. Twins come quickly!

P1030143

So on Sunday morning, we packed up and said our goodbyes so we could say hello to Jenn and her family. And one great big HELLO to that BELLY!

P1030147

I don’t know how she is doing it, but she looks absolutely fantastic and is still up and moving!

Henry is just about old enough to actually play with his cousins. It’s a pretty heartwarming sight. Of course, he is still a baby so at one point Jillian declared “I’m bored of Henry now.” I’m both looking forward to and dreading that honesty once Henry can talk. haha.

P1030155

What a great trip. I wish it was longer, but we were very happy to get home yesterday. Happy birthday to my Grandma and lots of love to my whole family!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Grandma’s 80th Birthday Party

  • Naveen says:

    Looks like a lovely trip. Henry’s growing up fast! My daughter loves the outdoors too… do you use any insect repellant on Henry?

    • Christina says:

      It was great! And yes, of course there were mosquitoes, but luckily he was in bed each night before they got bad. We bought the natural Badger spray to use on him, although I only found I had to apply it one time when it was shadier and cooler. They make balm and spray with all natural ingredients and it smells like lemongrass tea!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Grandma’s 80th Birthday Party at I want to go to there.

meta

