Another one escapes NYC!

February 25, 2015 § 1 Comment

Kate and I

New York is losing a wonderful collection of people to Nashville today – my good friends Kate and Bryan and their “menagerie”.

katemeold

Kate and I met in person in 2007 during my first visit to New York. We both worked for The Agency Group and I wanted to check out their office while I was in town. We began to see each other at shows, festivals, and bars when I was in town, and once I moved here, she was one of just two friends I had (not counting Nick, of course).

P1000952_1

As twenty-somethings, we would plan nights of dining at tacky-but-tasty Indian food restaurants then tour the bars of the East Village for PBR and Jager specials. That morphed into trying to find Manhattan’s hidden speakeasies and sipping fancy cocktails.

N_C_Wedding-9909 copy

We started to become actual “adults”. We saw each other get married – they even asked me to be their wedding photographer!

re_DSC7024

_DSC7221

Then we were fortunate enough to be pregnant together, Kate just a few months ahead of me, and discovered that trading drinks for dessert was the way to go. (One evening at Eataly, we had gelato after dinner and both wondered out loud “What have we been doing? This is much cheaper and more delicious!”)

IMG_4031

IMG_4678

The past two years have been a mix of family get togethers and one on one visits. The 5pm Sunday dinner at Brooklyn Label with 4 adults and 3 young children became our new favourite tradition.

P1030385

No matter what the activity (or stage of pregnancy), Kate was always fun. Always positive, rational, kind, outgoing, and welcoming. Kate and Bryan have been parenting role models to Nick and I – we have been lucky to have them 5 months ahead of us in child rearing and love to hear how they handled the sticky situations we currently face.

P1030466

Rocco and Royce (and Ponch, Gucci, and Gambino) are fortunate to have such great parents, who care so much about them that they wanted to leave this remarkable city to bring them up in a proper house with a yard, two cars, and less pollution. New York will miss them all, but the city understands it presents some serious challenges for families (who aren’t millionaires ;)

Good luck to the Vastanos – I’m sure we will head south to visit you sooner than later!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Another one escapes NYC!

  • robyn vastano says:

    I loved this ! Henry is adorable and I so enjoy getting the pictures of him. Kate & Bryan love you guys and I am so sure you all will see each other soon …xoxox

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Another one escapes NYC! at I want to go to there.

meta

